School Council Members-Election results

Dear Lawrence Families,

We are pleased to announce the election of two parents, Nira Pollock and Charu Puri-Sharma, as parent representatives to Lawrence School Council for next year. We thank all of the candidates who stepped forward to volunteer, the parents for taking part in the election, and the Election Committee for running a successful election.

School Council meets once a month on Tuesday mornings from 8:00-9:00 am with occasional subcommittee work in between. The meetings are open to the Lawrence community, and the meeting dates are posted by the PTO.

Five parent representatives serve on the Lawrence School Council along side five teachers, our principal and vice-principal. Parent and teacher representatives serve two-year teams. School councils were established in all Massachusetts schools as part of the 1993 Education Reform Act. They must include an equal number of parents and educators. Parent representatives are elected by the parents. At Lawrence, one of the five parent representatives is always a PTO President. According to law, the school council acts in an advisory capacity to the principal on matters related to school improvement and helps to identify school goals and develop the annual school improvement plan.
School council is a place where parents and teachers can talk together about educational matters. School council should focus on the “big picture” of the school community: What kind of school do we want this school to be and how do we get there? 
If you have additional questions about School Council, please feel free to contact one of our parent representatives or our principal for more information. Returning parent representatives are Keith Carson, Grace Fehrenbach and Charu Puri-Sharma (re-elected). New parent representatives will be Nira Pollock and our incoming PTO President.
Nagmeh Ansari and Jin Suk are completing their current term on School Council this year. We would like to extend our gratitude to Nagmeh and Jin for serving our community in this role. Thank you, Nagmeh and Jin!

PTO and School Council Leadership

Comments are closed.